SpottyCatIllustration

Yatsumo Bamboo Pen and Brush

I purchased this pen and brush combination tool from the Dick Blick website with the intention of using it as the primary pen for drawing loose lined comics. I have finally tested it on a single illustration and the lines the bamboo tip makes has a chisel like quality and 3-4mm line width down to about 1.5mm with flick. Suitable for word balloons and lettering but the endurance per dip is only about one letter or 2.5 inches (6.35 cm) of solid line that fades into streaks when the tip is getting dry. The brush end is on the broad side and holds plenty of ink being natural hair. My ink of choice was a combination of Speedball and Blick Black Cat brand India Inks in approximately 50/50 proportion but this will change as I continue to fill my ink jar with Speedball. It would be a good idea to use a budget friendly ink with this pen as it easily dishes out bold juicy lines and is gluttonous when it comes to ink consumption. This is to be expected with a bold pen that lays wet lines down so easily. Overall I'm pleased and excited to use this pen for my future comic projects.

Tested 10/2024, all materials purchased with my own money and I have no connection to any companies listed here.